Introductory Post

teachHello y’all (yes, I love country music!)

Where to start? Well, I am a French-Canadian who decided to become a teacher. Crazy (not really), right?

I have just completed my Bachelor in ESL teaching and I am about to embark on the second leg of this insane, fun and amazingly rewarding teaching adventure. The second leg of this journey is only one part of many ambitious projects:

Moving Abroad for Graduate Studies

First, I am making what I would consider an unconventional decision by taking my talents (I also love sports for those who get this) to another country for graduate studies.

Indeed, I am moving to the United States of America where I will spend two years South of the Canadian border to pursue a Master in education. It is a bold, nerve-racking, but mostly a motivating and uplifting decision.

Financial Overhaul

Getting serious about finance? I would not have considered it up until a few months ago. I inadvertently followed someone on Twitter for sports related reasons (hi @steveonomics) and that person happened to blog and talk about financial independence and early retirement. I subsequently followed a lot of people discussing the same topic and I was hooked.

The idea of improving my finances to reach an unimaginable level of wealth was appealing. Going from not looking at my finances at all to setting specific goals has been difficult, but the wealth of knowledge available online on blogs from the financial independence community has been very helpful*. For now, it is all about educating myself, learning to make the right decisions and slowly growing.

*Just to name a few:

*http://www.millionaireeducator.com/
* http://www.shepicksuppennies.com/
* http://www.gocurrycracker.com/
* http://www.madfientist.com/

Getting the Mind and Body Right

2017 has also been about finally taking care of my body and my mind. I have been very lazy over my college years and the accumulation of bad decisions is starting to catch up. I am extremely lucky to be where I am today considering the choices I have made over the last several years.

However, I am dedicating this year to losing an excessive amount of extra weight (which I had previously lost but gained back and more) and to engaging my brain more on a regular basis. I truly believe that my bad financial decisions and other life choices are closely linked to my recent physical and intellectual inactivity and my overall sullenness.

What the Future Holds

As for this blog, I have no set plans. I would like to use this platform to discuss my experience studying abroad, how I am trying to re-shape my finances while going to school and finally my health journey. It is also a good opportunity for me to write in English and improve my writing skills!

Let me know down below if there are any topics you would like me to discuss!

À plus tard!

 

 

5 thoughts on “Introductory Post”

  1. I’m so glad you decided to do this, Sam! I cannot wait to read more about your adventures in the US. Maybe there is a meet up in our future! I do know that your students are lucky to have you, and now your readers will be, too. All the best!

    Like

Leave a comment